Queen of Hearts

alexis and rache queen of hearts

Hi, everyone! I hope you all had a relaxing spring break! A few weeks ago, I  participated in my state’s thespian festival where I competed in make up design. The theme was Alice in Wonderland, and we could choose to design for either the Mad Hatter, the Cheshire Cat, or the Queen of Hearts. After weighing my options, I decided to create a bloodthirsty Queen of Hearts look on my best friend and model, Rachel.

After a few weeks of research, I found an amazing Youtube tutorial by Elli Macs about how to create a slashed throat effect, and I knew that my design had to include it. Since the Queen of Hearts is known for shouting, “off with his head”, I fell in love with the irony of exposing her bloody throat and heart. Although the neck would look awesome, I didn’t have any outstanding ideas for the face other than adding tears that formed into upside down hearts. Thus, I chose to extend the black eyeshadow to Rachel’s eyebrows, and then draw on eyebrows made of blood to make the design way more dramatic. And guess what?

I only had an hour.

That’s right. An hour. And a low budget. I did not want to splurge on super expensive special effects makeup, so I worked with fairly inexpensive materials. The only materials that Rachel and I had to purchase were white face paint, fake eye lashes, a face paint set, and tiny bottles of fake blood and liquid latex. Otherwise, we used a glue stick to make Rachel’s eyebrows disappear, toilet paper to construct the bones and skin, and various cheap beauty products for the rest of the look.

Here’s a quick time lapse of Rachel and I competing:

Once we hit the 45 minute mark, Rachel could tell I was getting nervous because I had trouble attaching the fake eyelashes, and ultimately, we went without them. Also, I had fake skin that I wanted to put on both sides of the slashed throat to make it look more realistic, but I ran out of time. Good thing we practiced the Thursday before, or I think I would have ran out of time for many other steps, too! Despite some mishaps, I had a blast creating Rachel’s makeup, and competing against my sworn enemies, Molly and Sofi (just kidding I love them).

For y’all who want to see, here are some more photos of the oh so lovely Queen Rachel:

Moreover, this is the creative geometrical design my friend, Sofi, created on her model, Molly, and a photo of all of us together after the event.

Can’t wait to compete again next year!

xoxo,

Alexis

 

Leave a Reply

